inception

I'm not quite sure what you mean. Are you talking about when Fischer is talking to his father on his death bed or when they all awoken into level 1 and Fischer is talking to Eames in disguise of his colleague?

I forget exactly what he says to Eames but his father said to him "I'm surprised you even tried" which planted the idea in Fischer's mind that his business would fail.

Bumping this old topic because 1) the movie is now out on DVD/Blu-Ray and 2) this is my first time seeing the movie. This is a spoilerific post so if you are even further out of the loop than me and havent seen the movie, you should just move on.

Anyway, after seeing the movie I am pretty convinced that Cobb is stuck inside of his own dream. During the scene where Mal killed herself, the thought that she was right was implanted in the back of my head. As the movie went on, I became more convinced of this. The major thing is that while everyone else was in the lower levels of the dream, as they died they were transported to higher levels. If anyone can remember correctly, Araidne killed herself and Fischer exactly the same way Mal did, and she just rode up to a higher level of the dream world.

Cobb explained that him and Mal kept going further into the subconscious, the single kick that he did with him and Mal would've only shot him up one more level. Since they went all the way into limbo, one kick would not be enough.

Of course there is the whole thing about Mal trying to convince Cobb to stay down there with him. That doesn't make sense if she was trying to get Cobb back into reality. Then again one could argue that she could be a projection, or is trying to plant the idea into Cobb's head in a very subtle fashion. Another argument could be that it is just one massive plot hole that is easily covered up by the open ending.