Getting the most mileage out of your pickles

The other day I bought a jar Claussen Kosher Dills. They are the best damn pickles you can buy. I ate them all because they were so good. Yesterday I bought a cucumber, sliced it up, and threw 'em in the pickle juice in the jar and placed the jar in the back of the fridge. In a few weeks I should have delicious pickles, no?

Now, I have never heard of anyone doing this before. If it were a good idea, I would have heard about it, and it would be a common practice. If it were a bad idea, I would have heard about why it is bad. And I cant believe that I am the first person to ever do this. So is this a good idea? What are some other uses for pickle juice (besides flavoring deviled eggs)?

I think you'll have soggy, pickle-flavored cucumbers -- not true pickles. I'm no pickle expert, but the process is more complicated than that. It involves brine at room temperature, in absolute darkness, and the acidity of your brine has probably already been mostly absorbed by the original pickles. Don't think you can successfully reuse the juice.

Maybe add some more vinegar to the pickle juice. But it doesn't matter, I doubt you can match the majesty of a firm and crisp Claussen.

I don't remember the last time I had a pickle. I eat jalapenos now, whole, and chipped on my PB&J sammiches.

But more vinegar sounds good. You should experiment with this stuff. If you've never heard about it, in my case, it's probably a good idea.

De-Ting said:
I don't remember the last time I had a pickle. I eat jalapenos now, whole, and chipped on my PB&J sammiches.
WTF? I can't complain, I put ketchup on my scrambled eggs and on my macaroni & cheese.

Skating rinks used to sell frozen pickle juice from an ice cube tray for 50¢ a pop. Picklesicles, held with a toothpick frozen through the middle.