|OT| Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by CloacalKiss, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. Longo_2_guns

    Longo_2_guns Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Destruction magic is really broken in the early game and really useless in the late game, since it doesn't scale, the upper level spells are shit, and you can't make your own spells.
     
    #821
  2. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know Longo. Thanks!

    I loaded my 1h character and he's a lot cooler now that he's level 12. Well, 14 now. I can kill shit pretty quickly and can survive encounters with dragons. Magic casters can hurt a bit but other than that, he's much better. Or I am. Wondering if I should put points in the block tree. Right now I'm focusing on 1h weapons, heavy armor and smithing.
     
    #822
  3. CloacalKiss

    CloacalKiss Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    7,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone here excited about Dawnguard? I know I'm not at that price.. We shall see though
     
    #823
  4. LinksOcarina

    LinksOcarina Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vampire design looks like something out of from dusk till dawn...

    Crossbows are cool though...so I don't know yet.
     
    #824
  5. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,825
    Likes Received:
    27
    Elder Scrolls expansions have always been worth the price, in terms of amount of content.
     
    #825
  6. Delta47

    Delta47 Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone pick up Dawnguard yet? I'm downloading it now.
     
    #826
  7. LinksOcarina

    LinksOcarina Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    I won't deny that, but twenty dollars is a hefty price...
     
    #827
  8. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I started playing this again. Imported my 360 save to the PC because, well...MODS! Although one of em is causing annoying clipping. Anyways...

    I know enemies scale with your level, but is it your level in which you gain perks or say I level sneaking to like 25, will my enemies be level 25? Silly question but I went to get the Golden Claw in Riverwood or whatever and the Daugir are kicking my ass. It could be because I'm a leather wearing thief/assassin type character with no poisons to speak of right now...

    And speaking of modding....Certain mods ask to overwrite other files from other mods - Say I have the 2K texture pack but one of my mods wants to overwrite some of the files, will that cause conflict? Will the new one look better or worse? It seems like a gamble to be overwriting mod files but it also seems very common to get that pop up.
     
    #828
  9. De-Ting

    De-Ting Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. All enemies have their own skills that level up when you level up, as in your character level. Also, that's pretty much always the first quest I do after Helgen.

    Some mods kinda stack onto other mods. They'll require a certain mod to be installed first, and then will overwrite some of its files. For example, a lot of mods affect textures, but require the official 2K texture pack to be installed first.
     
    #829
  10. tinymhg

    tinymhg Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    De-Ting knows what he's talking about. So hear his wisdom. :headbng2:
     
    #830
  11. LinksOcarina

    LinksOcarina Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    No wonder I hate this game, I can't mod it at all since its stuck on the 360.
     
    #831
  12. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for clearing it up. And for the first quest I just ha to think strategically. (Not something I'm used to with my sword and shield character.) I had to lure them out through the swinging pendulums and let those take them down, and use the sparks ability. Maybe I'll just be a thief mage...
     
    #832
  13. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been playing around with some mods and I found an ENB I like except the blur effect happens at really inopportune times. And for some reason distant textures aren't being rendered as quickly as I'd like them to be. They were actually rendered faster before all my mods.

    http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/57898 ... EB341B213/
     
    #833
  14. Sourdeez

    Sourdeez Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Motion blur is the one thing I turn off in every game. I run at 120fps I don't need motion blur.
     
    #834
  15. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I can't get 120FPS in Skyrim with that ENB and all the other mods I have installed. I'm sure there's a way to disable their blur effect in the enb file.

    Also - I'm connected to my TV which is a 120hz but my PC won't let me change the refresh rate above 60hz :/.
     
    #835
  16. Sourdeez

    Sourdeez Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Metro 2033 dx11 is a good example of motion blur that gets way out of control. Things will turn to a blurring un-discernible mess.

    For hdmi, hdmi1.4a is the only spec that can run 120hz . Some tvs also dont support real 120hz. Does your tv support hdmi 1.4a?

    Does your TV take dvi-d or display port? These are currently the only interfaces that support the bandwidth for true 120hz.
     
    #836
  17. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I'm aware of that. Yes. My TV supports HDMI 1.4 and it is 120hz. Pretty sure I know how to recognize if my TV has 120hz ;) My surround receiver has 3d pass through so it supports 1.4.

    Might be an HDMI 1.3 cable. That's what sucks about having so many HDMI cables lying around. Don't know which ones are 1.4 or not.

    And I don't mean motion blur like you see in fps but the enb mod will give a bokeh effecy which is nice except this one constantly goes in and out of focus while in 3dd person.
     
    #837
  18. Sourdeez

    Sourdeez Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to hear. Im not sure of any way to test a hdmi cable other than looking for numbers on it or something. I use DisplayPort on my monitor.(It actually only supports hdmi1.3 so it cant do 120hz over hdmi)

    Hit back with a reply if you get your 120hz working and which solution you decide to use. i always enjoy hearing people making the jump.
     
    #838
  19. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly I notice minimal difference gaming on my 360 or ps3 with 120hz enabled on my TV.
     
    #839
  20. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sourdeez here's one you can maybe answer for me - If I turn 120hz on on my TV, do I really need to change the refresh rate on my monitor in Windows? I shouldn't right? I
     
    #840

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice