What do you do for work?

Master_Craig

Forum Moderator
Staff member
So what do you do for work?

Are you working? Are you studying in university/college? Do you have a goal of what you would like to be doing for work one day?

Post away.

I'm a writer. I'm self-employed, haven't had anything published and haven't made a cent from anything I've done, but it's what I do. I haven't finished anything yet because I don't want to just push out any old amateur trash. I'm too meticulous about it.

I've tried working at a few different places, but haven't held a job for more than 4 days. I've worked in a freezer pulling orders for delivery trucks, at an office editing freelance web designer commissions, and at a supermarket. I hated every minute of it. Call me weak, call me a pansy, but believe me, I know. I tried and I failed, and each time I quit I got very depressed. Forget the fact that I have trouble sleeping, forget the fact that I have bronchial asthma, I'm seriously disappointed that I can't go out and earn money like everyone else I know.

Now I'm almost 25 years old and I'm living at home in my mom's basement. Every day my mom and sister come home with a new story or complaint about their jobs, and I feel like dirt because I'm not out there suffering with them.

So I'm stuck here in this awkward place, wanting to make some real money to support my family but not willing to do so at the cost of my artistic integrity. This book, Cruel, probably could have been done a long time ago. It might even have been good, but it wouldn't have satisfied me, and I haven't even mentioned all of the fears I have with publishing it.

I saw this Disney's Frozen snowflake sandwich crust cutter one day, and it struck terror into every ounce of my soul.

s-l225.jpg