To Gamefly or Not To Gamefly

Green_Lantern

Forum Moderator
Staff member
That really is the question....

I've had Gamefly before, actually on two different occasions, and I enjoy the service, but I cancelled since it always seems like they send you a game at the very bottom of your list even if there are games towards the top of your list that are available to be sent to me....Have they changed that at all? It's definitely a more sound financial decision that constantly buying new games and 5 days from Blockbuster is never enough time for me.

So what say you, people of GR...

I've never used it before, but I'm thinking I might use some of my tax return to pay for a three month subscription and go from there.

Not to mention that there aren't really any rental places within 10 miles of me. Blockbuster just shut down.

There's always the 7 day return policy at GameStop...

I had it for almost exactly a year. I eventually figured out the perfect timing to send a game back right as they were sending out new releases at the top of my list, and that always felt cool.

I eventually cancelled my subscription because I stocked up a big pile of used games from Goozex that are keeping me busy, and there weren't any new releases that I felt were must-plays, or that I couldn't wait for.

Get it if you need it, basically.

Eh, there's gotta be a reason I haven't signed up yet. Still, I've always been curious. I tend to buy games instead of renting though, but then again, I always hear that the best way to buy is to get the game from gamefly and then they ship you the box and manual and everything...

I say sign up for it.

I don't spend money renting. If I'm interested in a game, I ask around about it, read reviews, view screens and gameplay trailers, and ultimately it comes down to if I'd actually play it, with all the other games I have right now.

I almost never buy a game I'm truly disappointed with. If I do, it was probably on sale for very, very cheap.