Recording games (PS4) for video editing

Master_Craig

Forum Moderator
Staff member
Hey guys, I'm going to ask a really stupid question here because I know absolutely nothing about it.

I have a PS4. As we all know, PS4's have the ability to record in-game video, so to record what you're playing. I've never tried it before, but I was wondering... is it possible to record some game play video on your PS4, take the video off your PS4 somehow (maybe by USB or external HDD) to put it into video editing software like Adobe Premiere, and then edit it from there?

What I've been thinking about doing (one of my "plans I never end up doing but would like to do" as we all have) is to try and make sorta "let's play" videos of me playing games, but only for three, five and maybe up to ten minutes in length. I'd like to be able to use one of my own cameras (a Nikon D3200 DSLR) to record myself playing the game, and I'd like to mix that footage with the footage I capture on the PS4.

Long story short, I want to make a YouTube channel. I want to put videos of myself doing stuff like drawing (GR Strips and such), video tutorials on digital drawing and how to draw, as well as some video game stuff like "let's play" videos. Regarding the game videos, I might see if my girlfriend is willing to jump in with me to provide commentary, because her reactions to some of the games I play (and some of the stuff she says) I think is pretty funny. I'd like to try and do this with games I've never played before and am just about to play.

Is what I'm asking possible and is it simple as it sounds? Is it complex? How would I go about doing it? Any help is appreciated. :)