How long can a good thing last...REVIEWS

shandog137

Novice
I am planning on doing a blog entry on the effect of add-on content on the relevance of reviews. Basically can a B/B- game be turned into a B+/A- game through add-on content? For instance I recently started playing Lair for PS3 which got mixed reviews when it originally came out mainly due to the control scheme. Since its release a free add-on for mapping the controls to the analogs as well as the addition of two new dragons has been added. Which in effect rectifies the main issue with the game and would justfy a second look at the game. Before the add-on era of console gaming you could read reviews of a game from several source after the game was released and for the life of the console the game's review and substance would remain consistent over time. My question is how long do you guys think a review is good for now and how often do you read reviews in order to decide whether to purchase a game?

No, because they are just fixing their flaws because of what reviewers have said. If reviewers were to wait for updates, they wouldn't really be reviewing the actual game. That goes the same for the downloadable content that's meant to increase the lifespan of the game or make it more fun. While they aren't fixing any flaws with that (most of the time), it still shouldn't be included in a review.

I guess I was getting at the fact that games may need to be reviewed more than once as opposed to not doing the initial review. If we think a game was an okay game and then they add-on all the bells and whistles people were complaining about, does it justify a second review? Kind of like restaurants being reviewed yearly or so...something like that, which gives the developer/publishers a chance to make meaningful add-ons to boost sales later from post add-on reviews.

I suppose reviewers can do an update review on the end of the original review - just like an edit. I'd like to see that.