Car Wrecks, Insurance Companies, and What is Fair?

Alright, so I need advice as to what is fair.

In early August I was heading down the highway and my cruise control was set at the speed limit, 70 mph. A teenage was speeding and was not paying attention (I will assume messing with radio or was texting) and rear ended me going approximately 80 mph.

My truck was hit pretty good and needed a new tailgate, bumper, rear lights, side cab panel, etc. Damage all said and done was $3,900. I went and saw the doctor and had x-rays done and was diagnosed with a pinch nerve in my neck and a vertebrae in my lower spine was slightly shifted.

I've been doing treatments and therapies about two to three times a week and am pretty close to pre-accident status. In the mean time, I dealt with random headaches, my left arm would go numb off and on, I could not sit for an extended period of time. I am a football coach and could not be active, demonstrate, lift, or do things generally expected from a coach. I had to stand on the side and just kind of yell - which I hated.

Additionally, my wife felt the burden because she primarily became responsible for both kids during this time period. I couldn't lift or take care of them really.

The insurance company is paying for the rental car, (it took 11 days to get my truck back), my medical bills (currently around $900), my day of work I missed, and they are offering $500 in pain and suffering.

Here is my question. What is fair?

I've got no desire to cheat the system or try and pay off my mortgage. I am not looking to exploit the system, however; I am looking to make sure I am not being exploited either. I told them the points above and that I was expecting something higher, just not sure what. They have not got back to me since I sent my last exchange.

So I am looking to get some feedback and opinion. What is fair and what should I be expecting in my settlement?