What happened to the reset button?

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by keepithowitis, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. keepithowitis

    keepithowitis Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard the old saying, 'you can't hit the reset button now' type thing after I did something stupid a couple nights ago, and for a while since then I've been wondering, what DID happen to the reset button? It used to be the easiest thing ever, just punch that and let it restart.

    Thoughts?
     
    #1
  2. Rainemaida

    Rainemaida Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    10,665
    Likes Received:
    2
    edit: pic is too large


    Shaft
     
    #2
  3. Grey

    Grey Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    God forbid you just hit the power button twice. :/
     
    #3
  4. madster111

    madster111 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    6,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what the eject button is for.
     
    #4
  5. Chris_Crime

    Chris_Crime Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go Cowboys!
     
    #5
  6. De-Ting

    De-Ting Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol...MYLF.

    Anyway, the PS3 doesn't need a reset button, and the Wii has the "Reset Software" option.
     
    #6
  7. Rekkie7

    Rekkie7 Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    14,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it has a lot to do with the use of harddrives and autosaving. Reset at the wrong time and risk losing data.

    At least we can shutdown from the controller now.
     
    #7
  8. jc00l

    jc00l Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have said this before but when i first found that out i was the happiest i have ever been.
     
    #8
  9. Shaft

    Shaft Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    this topic seems to belong in general. Ill move it there
     
    #9
  10. Flaming_Tiki_God

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    8,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's probably the saddest example of laziness I've read.
     
    #10
  11. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    Resets were great when it didn't take minutes fr games to load.
     
    #11
  12. Solaris10

    Solaris10 Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reset button is for noob!

    ...........

    Damn I miss that button....
     
    #12
  13. jc00l

    jc00l Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    8)
     
    #13
  14. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    Can't.... get out..... of bed......
     
    #14
  15. LawnGnome

    LawnGnome Rookie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Consoles just aren't built like they used to be. I always take care when turning any of the latest consoles on/off, but back in the day I used to rapid-fire the reset button on my NES when I got frustrated with performance or gameplay. That never had any negative effects, but try that on a 360, Wii, or PS3 and you'll end up with an expensive paperweight.
     
    #15
  16. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    I ripped the cartridges out of the SNES for like a week until I noticed the eject button.
     
    #16
  17. madster111

    madster111 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    6,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha!
    My old 360 used to go through that all the time (and getting absolutely hammered by fists) for about 2 years before she died.
    and she only died because the disc tray stopped working.. The actual console itself still played arcade games and demos beautifly.
     
    #17
  18. MattAY

    MattAY Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    13,751
    Likes Received:
    41
    Go get a wii you lazy bum! There's still a reset button on that.
     
    #18
  19. De-Ting

    De-Ting Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
    #19
  20. GhostTrip

    GhostTrip Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do things twice when you can just do it once. :p
     
    #20

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice