Experimenting with the Atmosphere

Random, but I decided that I wanted to play around a bit and see if playing certain music would change the mood of the game I was playing. So I decided to play Left 4 Dead while listening to some happier music.

I had to turn off the music as soon as I started playing. It just seemed all wrong and I couldn't focus and I just started laughing. So I'm wondering, has anyone else done anything like this before? Trying to play music that has an opposite feeling of the games? How did it work out?

Or do you ever have certain things going on when you play?

Usualy while I play games, if they have a stellar soundtrack I leave the game sound on.

But I mostly listen to my favorite music in MMORPG's as in WoW, WAR etc. because the music there is so bland and uninspirative it usualy make me want to play less then more. :p

Probably because the fact that the music most MMORPG's use are pretty boring - at least for me.

Well, I usually listen to Gorillaz when i play games, because its just calming and i work more methodical and get into that spot where i dont even need to think about what im playing.
I turn on heavier stuff when i get online though.

Uver said:
Well, I usually listen to Gorillaz when i play games, because its just calming and i work more methodical and get into that spot where i dont even need to think about what im playing.
I turn on heavier stuff when i get online though.

Talk about heavy, just discovered this sweet sweet band -

http://de.youtube.com/watch?v=YiMpY_NJQJE

Definitely a piece I'll be hearing from now on while I play some good ol' sweet FPS online. :D

Play any game with the Benny Hill music playing. You will laugh your ass off.

Also, I have yet to find a song that gets me more pumped up then Reach for the Sky by Social Distortion.

Back in the day before voice acting and musical scores in games I'd listen to anything while gaming. Nowadays i really can't do it, espeically if the game has a deep plot.