Wanna help me with my term paper on video games?

subcalvin

Rookie
I am currently a student at university, and of course I have to deliver a term paper this year. I am currently working on my minor in history.
Now I know it might sound weird, what the hell do video games have to do with history?
First of all I did not make this assignment up, my professor put out suggestions for term papers and all of us had to choose one.

I will try to translate the question I have to answer to the best of my ability.

The war as a means to pass time in a “boy’s worldâ€

Use Medal of Honor, Frontline and Call of Duty Four, for the games I would suggest. They cover two different time periods.

I have to run to class, but for now that should be a starting point.

hmm, frontline could work, especially the whole normandy landing part. As far as call of duty 4 goes i dont think so, i havent played it, and i dont feel like buying it. Besides its suposed to be about the Iraq war right? But at the same time not..... nah, i think i need a finished war. But thanks for the sugestions, i think i will use frontline.

Call of Duty 4 is more about gurellia warfare and covert operations, as well as nuclear terrorism and the like. It has more to do with hot topics in warfare that are not about the Iraq war, plus, it can be a message about the detachment and technology of warfare today, how it is more impersonal because all you need to do is push a button and things go boom.

Use the Mohaa series, brothers in arms, and something besides a shooter like Medieval total war, Rise of Nations, Codename Panzers, or Warhammer 40k... not that one.

If you really want to stretch it, use GTA San Andreas for the racial war that led to the L.A. Riots.

KOTOR, it was a long time ago and in a galaxy far away, but you may find comparable reference material out there somewhere.