So...Borken news again?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Lethean, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. Lethean

    Lethean Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed some of the news article's aren't quite showing up as they should be still. I just thought I'd point it out in case you thought all was well with it.
     
    #1
  2. dUKE

    dUKE Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1996
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    which one? they all look fine to me.
     
    #2
  3. Lethean

    Lethean Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's working fine for me in Firefox, but in IE it's showing this:

    "Sony announces DVD upscaling for PS3
    Posted on Friday, March 2 @ 16:40:17 Eastern

    By Eugene Huang

    In part 4 of Newsweek's massive 4-part interview with Sony's Phil Harrison, interviewer N'Gai Croal effortlessly gets a scoop indicating a plan to bring DVD upscaling to the PlayStation 3. All Croal had to do was ask Harrison what needs to change in regards to the flow of information within Sony Computer Entertainment:

    "There is a cultural thing about our approach in Japan that has to change," Harrison stated. "Our approach in Japan is 'Once it's perfect, we'll share it with everybody else.' Whereas I think in order to engender trust in our users, we have to share some things that might be not quite perfect, but are ready to give you an indication of what's coming. So we could say, 'You know, we're not sure when it's coming, but we're going to have DVD upscaling on Playstation 3.' There you go. There's a scoop for you."

    Obviously, as Harrison pointed out, no timetable exists yet for the software upgrade that would contain this feature. But he also implied that other goodies might be in store for PS3 users with the suggestion that PlayStation head of platform development Izumi Kawanishi should write his own blog containing Sony's latest developments. Harrison jokes that it would soon become the "biggest blog in the world"."
     
    #3
  4. joeblow

    joeblow Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    IE doesn't convert the ' to ' like every other browser does. I think it's fixed now for any newly added articles though. I'll check on it tomorrow.
     
    #4
  5. Lethean

    Lethean Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh ok.

    Thanks for cleaing that up!

    Glad to hear it isn't borked still, like my engrish!
     
    #5
  6. malakian

    malakian Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm amazed you used IE to browse GR after reading it in FF! That's like trading a Lotus for a Robin Reliant
     
    #6
  7. Lethean

    Lethean Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha.

    Well, I was using IE prior to installing FF, then when it worked on FF, I just wanted to check and see if it was just IE that was having the issue.

    And then FF wouldní¨t open, so I had to reinstall, and now when I go to reinstall, it woní¨t :(.

    I blame Vista.

    And wtf...Why do apostrophes, quotation marks and question marks show up as that funky í¨ which Im too dumb to know the name of!
     
    #7

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice