Nice Ads guys.....

Discussion in 'Support' started by miak757, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. miak757

    miak757 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    0
    When Trying to post on a topic, A ad on top of the screen, Flashing yellow and blue Said "DO NOT CLICK ME". my PC froze and Spy sweeper Came up and said That Some site (Not namIng) had been blocked, And my pc froze and i had to CTRL + ALT + DEL to get my Pc working Again
    :x

    seriously :x
     
    #1
  2. DKR1138

    DKR1138 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah those ad's blurting you are the 999,999th vistor congratulations just kill my eyes... doesn't effect my none, but alas, is annoying.
     
    #2
  3. schimmel

    schimmel Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, a lot of people have been having trouble with the popup ads lately; I'd recommend getting a decent-ish popup blocker and things might get semi-fixed. There is also an app for Firefox called Adblock but I've noticed that when it is enabled it seems to block most flash players too.
     
    #3
  4. AMANIAC

    AMANIAC Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably some kind of scam to get you to buy their anti-virus software, i just did a system restore when it happened to me once (not on this site) and everything was fine.
     
    #4
  5. AMANIAC

    AMANIAC Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, we all posted in the same minute, how awesome.
     
    #5
  6. Green_Lantern

    Green_Lantern Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    22
    #6
  7. keepithowitis

    keepithowitis Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm using Adblock and Filterset.G for Firefox, and it blocks every ad in existence. Not only is it helpful and gets rid of the damn things, your web pages load faster because it doesn't have to wait for the banners to finish. The only problem is it also can block Flash players, such as the Myspace Music player, or Flash games. These can be unblocked, however.
     
    #7
  8. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about users who view GR in IE? I use Firefox as my primary browser but when I visit the forums a lot of times the page says "done" and nothing but the background and top banner has loaded. I brought it up once before and the only responses I got were "doesn't happen to me". (Even from Duke I think.)
     
    #8
  9. Kiristo

    Kiristo Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Generally when troubleshooting something, if you can't replicate the problem it's user error (or in this case maybe user software). That and we don't care about your problems. Mostly the last part.
     
    #9
  10. Tylzen

    Tylzen Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,033
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use IE, without ad blockers, I enjoy this misplaced ads.
    The congratulation you're the 999,999th visitor once have been replaced with "True Love Test" :D

    Sometimes the ads here are just random.
     
    #10
  11. De-Ting

    De-Ting Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    SLAP THE BELLY!
     
    #11
  12. madster111

    madster111 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    6,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    We're all gaming nerds who post on an online gaming forum.
    i think 98% of us would have SOMETHING better than IE. Honestly.

    Oh, and i too use ABP..
     
    #12
  13. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,825
    Likes Received:
    27
    I never get the "999,999th Visitor!" or "CLICK ME!" ads. When I do get banner ads they're always from actual businesses like Circuit City or whatever.
     
    #13
  14. jc00l

    jc00l Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually have had no problems with advertisements on this site. my comp never screws up at all. when i do get adverts they are from respectable companies. for instance right now! its advertising advil
     
    #14
  15. Sounds

    Sounds Rookie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    how come i've never had trouble with GRs ads yet??? i see lots of complaints about them.
     
    #15
  16. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do use something better than IE 99 percent of the time. Thank you for misusing my quote for your rhetoric though!

    Oh and Kiristo - You have got to be the most smartass poster we've had in a while :p. I'm pretty sure it isn't a user error on my part! Probably just a messed up version of Firefox. I should just put Opera on this computer. It's faster anyways.

    Edit: A nice software update of FF today fixed the issue.
     
    #16
  17. miak757

    miak757 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol
     
    #17

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice