Whatcha Doin?

yorky

Veteran
Having just recently decided to check in on the boards, I was just wondering who is around these days, and what you guys are doing currently in your lives?

So what's new? What have you accomplished lately? What's fallen through?

Bear it all. Think of it as your LinkedIn Profile, only people are going to read it.

Hah, nice.

I'm not sure if we know one another, yorky, but it's nice to make your acquaintance.

I'm currently on recreation (vacation) leave from work... I've been off since the 27th of December and I don't go back until the 2nd of February. During this time, I've been doing a lot of house work... lots of cleaning, as well as practicing my cooking.

My full time job, I'm a multimedia developer for our state's government, helping to create educational, health based resources, and some government promotional stuff. In truth, I'm seeking a new job, because I've been in this position for almost six years and sadly, there's no room for me to grow or expand. If I want to earn more money - I need a new job.

I used to draw comics here at GameRevolution, drawing "GR Strips" once a week... but I drew my last comic at the end of December, making the decision to leave GR Strips. I want to try and start my own website and my own webcomic, it's a bit of a dream of mine. I do feel bad for leaving GR Strips but after nearly three years, the time felt right.

In my spare time, I'm a kid's judo coach! I've been doing judo for almost eight years now and I help coach children. It's fun and rewarding, but sometimes it can be frustrating and stressful. I coach in judo three times a week, and then I also train about three times a week. I'm at the gym three times per week too for strength work, so I do enjoy health/fitness things.

I'd like to try and get my Level 1 Strength and Conditioning Australia qualification this year. I feel it'll help me out as a judo coach, especially if I help senior (+16 year old) judo players.