Your favourite video game characters?

Master_Craig

Forum Moderator
Staff member
I threw a post on this forum a while ago asking everyone what they felt where their favourite boss fights in any video game, and so I've decided to throw out another topic. Who're your favourite video game characters, and why?

For me, let's see.

Mario (Super Mario series): Simply put, I've been playing video games since I was four years old (I'm twenty now), and Super Mario Bros was my first game ever, on the Nintendo entertainment system I randomly got for that Christmas, and Mario's just stuck on me ever since.

Link (The Legend of Zelda series): Especially, the Twilight Princess incarnation. I've always liked Link, he's a strong, courageous character who doesn't say anything, just "YEEEARGH!" and stuff. Wicked.

Jade (Beyond Good & Evil): I felt Beyond Good & Evil was one of the most underrated games I've ever seen, I thought (with the exception of it being short) it was good, and I really liked Jade, she's a strong character who just kicks a lot of arse. I'm waiting for Beyond Good & Evil 2 for the next-gen consoles.

Samus Aran (Metroid series): Like almost everyone, I thought Samus was a robot, or a man or something. I first played Metroid II: The Adventures of Samus (I think it's called) when I was seven years old on my brick, transparent Gameboy, and I played every morning before school, eventually finishing it. It was great. It's pretty lame, I only discovered Samus was a woman when I first played Super Smash Bros. on the N64 (when I was about eleven). Like Link, she's almost silent - with the exception of her dialog found in Metroid: Fusion on the GBA back in 2003.

Solid Snake (Metal Gear Solid series): Especially after playing Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots (no spoilers, mind) I'll definately add this guy to the list. A cool, serious character with a bit of a dark sense of humour, he's pretty bad arse, and an all round good guy.