Trying to hook up my old NES to my HDTV, help please

Discussion in 'Retro Gaming' started by ShadeTail, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. ShadeTail

    ShadeTail Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried connecting my NES to my HDTV using RCA cables plugged into the A/V ports. I get sound, but no video. I've triple-checked that the cables are hooked up to the correct ports on both ends, so that isn't the problem. Any ideas about why, and how I can fix this?

    My TV is an LG-brand from 2010, if that matters any.
     
    #1
  2. GRColin

    GRColin Rookie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the audio portion of the cables going into a receiver or are all 3 plugged in? Also, try changing inputs on the tv in case you haven't yet.
     
    #2
  3. ShadeTail

    ShadeTail Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just FYI, the NES only has two cables, because it only produces mono sound.

    Anyway, I've tried plugging the cables directly into my TV, and also routing them through my receiver. Both give me the same result: sound without video. I've also tried both of the composite video inputs on my TV, again with the same result.
     
    #3
  4. De-Ting

    De-Ting Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know, my parents always helped me hook it up!
     
    #4
  5. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    Sounds like you know what you're doing. Bad cables maybe?
     
    #5
  6. ShadeTail

    ShadeTail Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I can confirm the cable I've been using isn't bad. I've managed to make it work by connecting the RF port on the console with the coaxial cable port on my TV. The image is pretty poor, though, even for a legacy system like the NES. If I could figure out how to make the composite AV port work, it would probably look better.
     
    #6
  7. WickedLiquid

    WickedLiquid Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just always used the coaxial cable up untill the PS2 generation when i switched to RCA and then HDMI for PS3.

    Just stick with the cable, that's how NES was meant to be played.
     
    #7
  8. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding but how does using an rf switch prove the quality of your RCA cable?
     
    #8
  9. ShadeTail

    ShadeTail Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't use an RF switch. I got an RCA-to-coaxial plug for $2 from an electronics store, attached that to my TV's cable port, then used the RCA cable to connect that to the RF port on my console.
     
    #9
  10. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    Oh, got it.

    Can you try a different tv? I use the original NES RCA cables to hook mine to my HDTV (which happens to be a LG also) and it works great. It has worked on my other tvs also.
     
    #10
  11. madster111

    madster111 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    6,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's very odd that it wouldn't work. It's just an analog picture signal.
    Could be a 50/60hz thing, maybe? Although you'd expect the coax to do the same if it was.
     
    #11
  12. drathbone

    drathbone Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    8
    If it's not the cable and it's not the port on the TV, then my guess is it's the RCA video output on the console, especially if the coaxial output is working which tells us the console is at least outputting video from something and not just failing alltogether. Process of elimination.

    Also,the video is going to look like chit because your blowing up 256x240 on an HD TV screen. Unless you have a setting to minimize it it's going to look pretty crappy
     
    #12

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice