Pro-Vax vs Anti-Vax

Paradox

Soaring Phoenix
This seems to be one of the major arguments around the world right now. Different countries handle it in different ways. America seems to be leaving it up to state governments for the time being while I think Australia is denying welfare benefits to parents unless their child or children has been vaccinated.

I myself have no kids, but if I did, I would have them vaccinated. I'm no expert and don't claim to know all sides from both points of view. I'm even good friends with some anti-vaxers. But based on the evidence presented to me and the spike in measles cases we've been having, I say just give the kids the shots. There's just no true link to autism from my understanding and any risks are outweighed by the benefits.

But again, I have no kids. In my 12+ years posting here at GR, I know other fellow posters have grown up and had kids of their own, or joined up already parents. What did you do? Why? Do you think you made the right choice? If you're not yet a parent, what will you do? Do you wish your parents had chosen differently? What's this issue like in your home country?

What's your opinion, GR?

If you're against vaccinations, why even leave your house? There's bad people out there. Why drive a car? You could have an accident. Why eat? You could catch something.

You see where I'm going with this.

Paradox said:
This seems to be one of the major arguments around the world right now.

Is it really though? There are people in the know, and people who want to be comforted by rhetoric.

Vaccinate your fucking kids.
No debate. No discussion.

UrbanMasque said:
Vaccinate your fucking kids.
No debate. No discussion.

I know right? It should be so simple. But there's people out there who'd rather listen to discredited scientists and know-nothing celebrities rather than credible science. Or, they're just young millennials who "aren't going to confrom with society, man".