Martial arts

maca2kx

Rookie
I'm fairly sure most of you are unaware that I have been studying for karate for around 10 years. Today was the grading for my 2nd Dan black belt and I passed (of course, else this would be a depressing topic). While you might be thinking this is a shameless back patting topic (and you'd be right) it's also because I'm interested in finding out if any of you practice any martial arts. I do Shotokan karate but I know people who practice Aikido, Judo and so on. So how about you lot?

The only kung-fu I know is "kick the gangsta in the balls." And if that doesn't work, gently yank his pants down that are already around his knees and try it again.

But hey, congrats Maca on your pretentious thread :wink:

No good job, seriously.

I did karate as a kid and had an instructor who looked similar to Danny McBride.

Nothing since then but I saw a video of a "knifehand" strike knocking someone out so I've been reading up on how to do that.

Have you ever been in a situation where you had to use your bad ass karate skills. If yes, how badly did you get your ass beat?

Nice job Maca.

Being a devout pacifist/wimp, I never did any martial arts stuff. I considered doing some judo type stuff, but decided that it wasn't for me.

I am considering buying a gun though. Does that count?

I've been going to a taichi class for the pass 6 month, does that work? Sun style to be exact.

Never did anything with a belt system. I did wrestling and a Sambo-based grappling class. Nothing better than seeing your hardwork pay off in excellent technique on the mat.

I for one will give you mad props. My friend worked really hard to get several degrees into a black belt in Japanese Kempo. I don't know how your belt reviews are, but his were intense.