How DLCs changed (my) gaming forever

I have been gaming for the last 30 years. Started with an Atari, then moved to a Phantom System (a generic NES from where I am from), then a Super NES, a few years without gaming and then a PS1, PS2, PS3 and now a PS4. Gaming does not come cheap, so getting games was always a big thing. Until the SNES era most of my games were rented: two cartridges taken on a Friday and given back on a Monday, for affordable pricing. For PS1 and PS2 times it was renting, buying used or getting from friends. At the PS3 era I was making enough money to properly purchase my games, so I started to build my collection. I would at least once a week visit a game store and check their stocks of new and used games, and buy whatever interested me. I still had that mentality that a game in a box was a finished product, ready to be taken home and enjoyed. It was before I heard of DLCs.

My first contact with a DLC came together with my PS3. It was a bundle containing Infamous and a second game I could choose between Red Faction Guerrilla or a sports game. The latter was so uninteresting to me that I do not even remember its name. So I took the PS3 home, bundled games and a few others, and happily started to play. At some point in 2009 I started Red Faction. Found it interesting at the time, but too repetitive, and went to the end. While checking for the trophy list (I was still trying to understand how it worked), I saw that there were this expansion pack which I did not had access for some reason, that would expand the story of the game. But the story was nothing special anyway, so I just forgot about it and went on.