Auto time-out

Discussion in 'Support' started by StickyGreenGamer, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. StickyGreenGamer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is more complaint than question. Whats the deal man?

    I'm a little cranky. I wrote a nice, long response to the article Nick posted earlier about video games and males. Unfortunately, in the amount of time it took me to compose it, the site logged me out. So when I hit post, my nice huge blog entry disappeared into nothingness, unable to be recovered. Looks like I'm going back to constructing my bigger posts/entries in a word processor....
     
    #1
  2. danielrbischoff

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    8,936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shit, I'm really sorry about that. I honestly don't know the solution to that article as I'm on the site all the time and I've never been logged out due to time.
     
    #2
  3. StickyGreenGamer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its all good man. I was just a little pissy. Honestly, its my own fault. I've been on the internet long enough to know that things like that occasionally happen, and I should have just done it how I always have before.

    Lesson for the people. If you are going to write something that is going to take a while to compose, do it in a word processor first.
     
    #3
  4. Bretimus_v2

    Bretimus_v2 So tired.

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10,980
    Likes Received:
    15
    Or just Ctrl+C before you hit "submit".
     
    #4
  5. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yeah, gotta save your work man.
     
    #5
  6. De-Ting

    De-Ting Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's been like that for as long as I can remember. Once it happens to you, you never forget it.
     
    #6
  7. Longo_2_guns

    Longo_2_guns Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17,191
    Likes Received:
    48
    I always do it in Word or Notepad first, with any internet posting thing like that.
     
    #7
  8. tinymhg

    tinymhg Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    I almost always use my word processor. Me no spell two good. :(
     
    #8
  9. TheJx4

    TheJx4 Rookie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    You spelled it pretty damn fine right there.

    ;)
     
    #9
  10. MattAY

    MattAY Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    13,751
    Likes Received:
    41
    I never post a wall of text. In fact the only time I have is when I've written reviews here. And I just kept Ctrl+C-ing at every paragraph.
     
    #10

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice