any1 won a box of games & couldn't play them cuz game to

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by johnttlin, Dec 2, 2006.

?

do you have vista ?

  1. yes

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. no

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. johnttlin

    johnttlin Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    THESE BOX OF GAMES I WON CAN NOT RUN BECAUSE THESE GAMES ARE TOO OLD. :cry:

    I have win vista os.

    win os vista does not let dos and win 3.11 games work.

    any one want to vote ? on how many gamers has vista ?
     
    #1
  2. TheNesMan

    TheNesMan Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    This could take a while to decipher.
     
    #2
  3. used44

    used44 Forum Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    21,825
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ahahaha

    Is this the sort of person the Boxes O' Games are going to? AHHHH
     
    #3
  4. JCD

    JCD Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Translation matrix initialized*
    **Translating**
    *Beep*
    Beep Beep*
    **ERROR1496 - No such language*
    *Translation Failed*
     
    #4
  5. masterchris

    masterchris Rookie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't quite understand the subject...
     
    #5
  6. Tyrranis

    Tyrranis Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    1
    At least, that's what I came up with.
     
    #6
  7. JCD

    JCD Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    OH...... (maybe he was nervous about it being his first post) Nope, no vista yet.
     
    #7
  8. Tim_Tackett

    Tim_Tackett Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I know what he's after. I handle the cheat submissions, I can draw meaning out of things that would make your eyes burst.

    XP and Vista won't support DOS-based games (many 3.11 games fall into this trap as well). Methinks someone got a box of games and can't run them. The easiest way around this is with a DOS emulator like DOSbox. You run the emulator, then run the games from inside it.

    Hence, how I can still be playing the original TIE Fighter from time to time here at GR.
     
    #8
  9. Wes

    Wes Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    This thread makes my head hurt.
     
    #9

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice