Looking to upgrade PC

Discussion in 'PC' started by Master_Craig, Apr 14, 2015.

1. Master_Craig

Master_Craig Veteran

Hey guys, I'm looking to upgrade my PC, not quite sure when but... I'm not looking to upgrade all of it, just some aspects of it.

Honestly I'm not very good with computers. Despite being super into digital media, I'm not that great at the I.T. or hardware side of things, so I may need some advice and explanations.

Below is my current PC, which I got in April, 2012 for $1,844.00 AUD (about $1,401.00 USD). Bought it from GR-TEK Computers, Australia (www.gr-tek.com.au / www.gamingpcs.com.au).

-Case: Antec DF30 Dark Fleet Case with Card Reader
    -Power supply: Hytec/Hipro Heavy Duty Low Noise 850W Power Supply
    -Processor: 2nd Generation Intel i7-2600 Core i7 QUAD Core 3.4 GHz, LGA1155 CPU
    -Motherboard: ASRock (Asus) Z68 EXTREME4 Gen3, PCle 3.0, SATA3, USB 3.0, -SQUAD SLI, 7.1CH Audio
    -Cooler: Thermaltake ISGC 300 Low Noise CPU Fan & Heatsink
    -Graphics: nVidia Geforce GTX 560Ti 2GB DVI/HDMI/VGA Graphics Card
    -DVD/CD: LG SATA 24 Speed Dual Layer DVD Burner
    -HDD: Seagate 1 Terrabyte SATA 3 HDD
    -RAM: 16 GB 1600 Mhz DDR3 G.Skill/Elixir Memory

I'm not sure whether to just get an entirely new machine, or upgrade only a few aspects of it. I currently have a 3GB SATA HDD that's going to be put it soon, but what else should I do with it? I don't exactly want to run GTA V on the best settings ever, but I want to be able to play PC games at a good, high quality. I also want to be able to continue with my digital media works (digital art, movies, animation etc). Also considering a Blu-Ray drive.

For example, I can play Skyrim on maximum settings with absolutely no problem, but I couldn't do that with the 2013 reboot of Tomb Raider.

Suggestions? :)

2. madster111

madster111 Rookie

It'll run GTA V at 60fps with decent enough settings as is.