A MARVELous experience at work.

Discussion in 'Heart of the Revolution' started by NegFactor, Feb 10, 2018.

1. NegFactor

NegFactor Novice

I started working with some friends at a movie theatre back in '99. It was a fun time and we all loved games and a number of my co-workers loved comics. I'd gotten to play a bit of the first Marvel Vs. Capcom when it came out and never really thought much about it -- I was never one for fighting games in the first place. I just wanted to fit in, so I would play a match every now and then with other people who were a lot more invested in the game. I remember getting my ass handed to me by practically everyone and it was fine -- hanging out and playing the games were what really mattered to me.

Then the local arcade across from us in the mall got Marvel Vs. Capcom 2. I wanted to at least not suck enough to make it a worthwhile competition for people I played against, so I ended up picking up the Dreamcast game. I started training with every character and trying to find who seemed like a lot of fun to me. I'd go to the arcade and play when I got a chance and ended up getting my ass worked by the local one-trick pony -- everyone thought he was amazing, but something seemed off to me and I eventually realized that he really just fell into typical patterns and had certain expectations of his opponents that allowed him to repeat those same patterns. I lost a lot to him and started playing more with my friends and we kinda fed off each other for awhile. The theatre we worked at closed because they weren't interested in renewing a lease and had another property just across the parking lot anyway, so we all transferred over to that theatre. Management basically hung out with staff and because of the sheer interest shown in the game, they ended up getting an MvC2 machine in the other theatre. We were stoked.